Bora Zivkovic interview with Taylor Dobbs

March 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

I was interviewed by Bora Zivkovic, who co-planned the conference Science Online 2011 about my views of science journalism, my current work, and my experiences at Science Online 2001.

From A Blog Around the Clock:

Continuing with the tradition from last three years, I will occasionally post interviews with some of the participants of the ScienceOnline2011 conference that was held in the Research Triangle Park, NC back in January 2011. See all the interviews in this series here.

We are starting the series with Taylor Dobbs.

Welcome to A Blog Around The Clock. Would you, please, tell my readers a little bit more about yourself? Where are you coming from (both geographically and philosophically)? What is your (scientific) background?

I am an undergrad journalism student at Northeastern University. I have very little science background, but I’m fascinated by the way technology can influence the dynamics of society. Cell phones, the internet, and – more recently – Twitter and smartphones – have dramatically changed the way society works. I’m interested in following how these types of changes progress and unfold in the future.

Tell us a little more about your career trajectory so far: interesting projects past and present?

My career trajectory is only up from here. I have literally never been paid for any journalism or science that I’ve done. The most recent interesting development: I’m trying to sell my first story. I’m hoping to be able to pay for a haircut soon, so the sooner the better. I’ve been mostly working on class assignments, but I’ve stumbled across an interesting story about health care fraud. Mostly, I’m covering the unfolding WikiLeaks story at my blog The World Exposed.

 

 

Read the rest of the interview at A Blog Around the Clock.

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bora Zivkovic interview with Taylor Dobbs at Taylor Dobbs.

meta

